So it’s now Throwback Saturday…just wanted to add to my post from last night.  I’d meant to write all about the different commissions that resulted from that first sunset painting I’d done for Kelly but it was closing in on midnight, there were sick crying babies and, quite frankly, my eyes were bleeding (not REALLY bleeding because then I’d PROBABLY be in need of some serious medical attention…but you get what I’m saying).  After an ok night’s rest (which is really all you can hope for with 3 kids 6 and under) I am sharing with you the rest of my post. 

Image

 

This one I did for my principal and his wife, Bill and Emily.  They’d given me a photograph of the view from their cabin.  A special place where they’d spent a lot of time,  It’s oil on canvas, 16″x20″. 

Image

 

This one was an official commission from Kelly.  My second paid commission EVER (and no I wasn’t paid with a chicken or pig or any outerwear to match my toque and scarf, it was actual money).  It was a gift for her parents as they’d spent time at a vineyard in Tuscany and this was their view.  Another 16″x20″ oil on canvas.

 

 

 

 

Image

 

This one you’ve seen before but as my 1st official commission it needed to be mentioned (and shown) again.  Thanks again Jameson and Amanda for being my first customers 🙂

 

 

 

Image

 

Another 16″x20″ oil on canvas for my friend Paul.  Living up north we’d seen a lot of northern lights and since this was his last year teaching up there he wanted something to remember the place (that and they’re just really nice to look at) 

 

 

Image

 

This one was for my friend Cheryl who waited very patiently for this painting (she’d mentioned wanting it while we were still teaching up there and it wasn’t until MUCH later that I was able to get it finished for her, kids and life happened in the middle and I was glad she still wanted it when I finally had the time to paint again).  Every time we drove down from Fox Lake to Edmonton we would pass this barn somewhere around Manning.  Someone had painted a Canadian flag on it and you really couldn’t miss it.  Every time we’d drive out and bak in we’d see it.  I called it ‘The Patriotic Barn’ and it’s another 16″x20″ oil on canvas,

 

 

Image

 

And lastly this was a portrait of Gwen’s (my fellow grade 5 teacher and neighbour) grandson ‘Mody’.  One of the toughest portraits I’ve dawn it’s still a favourite because of everything I learned while making it.  There’s nothing like a bunch of tiny details to help you grow as an artist.  It was a great challenge and I’m proud of how it turned out.

