The other day I actually got to do some painting in the daylight!  (I know right?!)  How, you ask, was I able to accomplish such a feat?  Deception and trickery Quality time with the kids!  I was somehow lucky enough to convince my 1 year that his nap strike had run it’s course and was no longer in anyone’s best interest (I may or may not have given him a little formula in his 3% milk to thicken his afternoon bottle, milk drunk I believe is the scientific term for this phenomenon…in my defence he’d skipped too many naps this week and was in desperate need of sleep; the constant screaming and falling over was a clear indication).  Then came the difficult part: convincing 6 year old and 3 year old boys that painting and colouring is SO much more fun than playing with lego and trucks.  Yeah.  Eventually it worked, it was somehow alluring to paint alongside mommy ‘like big boys’ so I took full advantage of this novelty and we had an afternoon painting session together.  I’m completely certain that it was a lot more fun for me than it was for them (just like our trip to the art museum and whenever I make them watch Teletoon Retro…) but they pretended seemed to have fun mixing colours and creating things.  Perhaps it’s my own wishful thinking but being an artist/parent has made me look for any signs of artistic ability in my kids.  Any drawing they do or picture they paint has me wondering if artistry is genetic or not.  Though perhaps I am SOMEWHAT biased…thinking my 3 year old could be the next Jackson Pollock because of the way he artfully threw his paint at his paper (ignoring the fact that he was yelling AT the paper AND the paint at the time so the paint throwing was probably just part of the epic tantrum that followed…but it was an artistic tantrum nonetheless).  In any case we had a fun afternoon and mommy got another sunflower painted…is it still quality time if after 45 minutes they’ve both gotten bored and left the room to watch TV and you are still painting because you REALLY want to finish the sunflower before the baby wakes up?  I’m going to say yes…

ImageImage

